Six Life Lessons I Learned from the Filipino Martial Arts

Zen Mind, Beginners Mind, Great Mind.

The Deadly Dance

In a few days, I will mark my sixth-month of training in the Filipino Martial Arts (FMA a.k.a. Arnis, Kali, or Eskrima).  Since I started, I have practiced with Master Cris once to twice a week, watched three tournaments, read and read, watched dozens of videos, and even started this blog.

My decision to go into it was largely influenced by my desire to get fit and to try something new. However, along the way, I realized numerous other benefits.  I found a new passion. I appreciated my heritage more. I made a lot of new friends. And learned some valuable lessons.

Here then are the six life lessons I learned from my first six months in FMA:

1. If you want new friends, find a new hobby. I have gained an entirely new group of friends. People whom I would never have known if I just stayed in my…

View original post 357 more words

Leave a Reply

